15 Seconds Is Usually Enough to Piss Me Off

Of all commercials that I am subjected to on a daily basis, car insurance commercials are the worst by obscene margin. This is in large part because they have the highest ratio of overexposure to I don’t give a damn of any services hocked on television. Yeah, my interest in changing my car insurance is right up there with having my ear hairs plucked, so suffice it to say, I don’t want to constantly be reminded of the same, blah options out there that are interchangeable to the plan I already have.

The worst offender is Geico, because they have too many different ad campaigns full of obnoxious characters (the smooth talking gecko, the moronic pig, the patronizing fairytale reader), stupid derp jokes and the same, tired message that they take great pride in, yet doesn’t promise much of anything. True, 15 minutes could save me 15 percent, or you know what, maybe it wouldn’t and now I feel stupid for having wasted 15 minutes talking to a car insurance agent. Or maybe, it does save me 15%, (which is equal to about 10-20 dollars a month), but now my deductible is twice as high. Yeah, seems like the whole ,”15 minutes,” jargon offers me as much as putting 100 dollars on a race horse with weak ankles could make me a millionaire at the track.

Anyway, the commercial above isn’t for Geico, but the reason I like it is because it calls them out on this BS slogan that has been forced into the American Consumer’s psyche for far too long with out promising anything. Does it make a better case for Esurance? Slightly, because while Esurance offers the same probability of saving you money, apparently they will only waste half the time Geico does. Do I care? Nope, I’m just glad to see some call out the most obnoxious ad campaigns of all time.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment